lemongrass crusted tofu

DSC_2964

Oh, hello there! You haven’t forgotten me have you? This little tiny blog that talks about food and such from a humble home cook in her humid hot kitchen in the tropics. Yes, that home cook who promised herself in mid October (and for the gazillionth time) that she will update her blog SOON. Yes, yes, that one. The one who gets a little carried away by new projects and kind of put aside old ones.. for a little while. Ahem.. yes, only for a little while.

Truth be told, I haven’t been around in the kitchen much last month. Namely because I was deprived of my own kitchen. Let me explain: My husband and I have decided to invest in a modest apartment. And by modest, I mean small. And by small, I mean.. err.. tiny. Okay, okay, it’s box-cage like. But size doesn’t really matter right (right?) when it’s our first home! That we BOUGHT with OUR OWN money. I am of course, tempted to turn the whole apartment into one very big kitchen where I could fit the refrigerator of my dreams, and a luxurious island, where I could just casually whip up breakfast pancakes for my guests who are sitting and chatting cheerfully around the island, whilst admiring the beauty of my kitchen counter… but I don’t think my husband would dig that option. Oh well, at least I still get a kitchen. My very own tiny kitchen that I will get to design! Oh, I get the jitters just thinking about it. Of course, there is still much work to be done. Oh so much.

So you would excuse me for the lack of activity around here wouldn’t you? Pretty please.. I promise I’ll blog more.. and as a token of good will, I’ll even give you a recipe this time. A real one. My very own. The one that I always come back to when in need of a snack, or a quick lunch, or even a side dish. It’s that versatile.

This is my third tofu recipe I’ve published. You must know by now that I sure love my tofu. How can I not? I grew up with this stuff. Being part of an Indonesian family would mean more often than not, tofu would be sitting at that dinner table. And growing up as a kid, tofu was my preferred choice of protein. I would shy away from beef, lamb and sometimes even chicken, but give me tofu any day and I would eat it by the dozen. And I would certainly eat this tofu by the dozen. Not only is it simple to make with only very few ingredients, but it’s also crunchy, aromatic, spicy, and fun to eat.

Lemongrass-Crusted Tofu

Serves 2 as a side dish, 1 (or 2 if you share) as a snack

  • 600 gr firm tofu
  • 2 lemongrass, white part only, minced
  • 2 small garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 bird’s eye chillies, thinly sliced
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp sugar
  • ¼ cup rice flour / corn starch
  • coriander leaves (cilantro), for garnish

Prepare your tofu. Wrap it with a kitchen towel and put something quite heavy – like a plate, over it. Let the liquid drain for about 10 minutes while you mince all those lemongrass and garlic.

When the tofu is ready, slice it into bite size squares (2cm x 2cm). On a shallow plate, mix lemongrass, garlic, chillies, salt and sugar together. Lightly dust each piece of tofu with rice flour / corn starch, then as best as you can, coat each piece with the lemongrass crust. Don’t worry if you can’t get much on it. A little goes a long way. Heat oil to 180 C (350F) in a frying pan and carefully shallow fry the tofu until all sides are golden.

Let cool slightly, garnish with chopped cilantro. It’s perfect with rice, or a simple soy dipping sauce.

3 thoughts on “lemongrass crusted tofu

  1. Pingback: { ffwd } bowls of soup | the spicy lemongrass

Leave a Reply

