{ ffwd } bd. raspail corn on the cob + eggplant caviar

DSC_3034

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe was incredibly simple. And I was actually thankful for that. My mother in law is currently here for a visit and being a true Asian at heart (and stomach!), she has a hard time eating anything that doesn’t have rice in it. Which means that for the past few days there has been a lot of stir-frying around here. And I mean A LOT.

Anyway, I was very relieved to see that this week’s FFwD recipe wasn’t something like duck with fresh peaches (which I am absolutely still dying to try), otherwise I would’ve had to make another set of meal for my MIL.  This corn on the cob was extremely simple to execute that it’s hardly a recipe. More of a technique really. You just pop the corn (on the cob, in the husk) in the oven for 40 minutes or so before shucking and slathering it with butter, salt and pepper. It was also very convenient as I could just leave the kitchen and catch up on Veep episodes without really having to worry about messing this one up.

The result was good. But nothing exceptional. Just corn.. with butter. Any corn with butter would taste good to me. I would still prefer to grill my corn for a smokier flavour. But it was good fun learning a new trick anyway. Oh and I also got to share it with my MIL (minus the butter). I think she enjoyed it. Bébé LOVED it (off the cob).

DSC_3059

I also made eggplant caviar. I had some eggplants lying around in my fridge and with Bébé still fast asleep I decided to tackle this Dorie recipe. I roasted the eggplant along with the corn (yes, I totally killed two recipes with one oven!). And the rest was pretty straight forward. The result? MEH… It was okay but I would still prefer the taste of a real baba ganoush with tahini. And somehow, I got this bitter aftertaste from the eggplant. And I thought that bitter eggplants were a myth! Maybe I overdid it with the lemon juice/olive oil? Or maybe it was just my eggplants. The tomato did make things more interesting for me though. And it certainly wasn’t bad served on top of toasted country bread either. Along with the corn, this made a light afternoon snack that overall we enjoyed.

Bd. Raspail Corn on the Cob (in 4 steps)

  1. Preheat oven to 200C.
  2. Pop corn into the oven (husk and all). Let roast for 40 minutes, turning halfway.
  3. Shuck corn.
  4. Serve with butter, salt and pepper.

Eggplant Caviar (in 5 steps)

  1. Roast eggplants in the oven at 200C for 45m.
  2. When cool enough to handle, scrape off the filling. Discard the skin.
  3. Mash with a fork, season with garlic, onion, herbs and lemon juice.
  4. Fold in some diced tomatoes.
  5. Chill. Enjoy.

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Check out:

19 thoughts on “{ ffwd } bd. raspail corn on the cob + eggplant caviar

  1. The corn was definitely easy, but I don’t think this technique will displace my usual one. Coincidentally, I made the eggplant caviar this week too. Delciious!

  2. I totally forgot about the eggplant caviar – it is prime eggplant season here, I will have to look it back up.
    Yes – this was one of the easiest ways to make corn, but I agree – grilled is the best.

  3. its nice that you got two Dorie recipes done at a go. Both look great !
    and yes bitter eggplant is definitely not a myth. has happened to me a couple of times 😦

    • I know! I love getting her to try new things. Like last time I made fish taco.. I know that deep down she would’ve preferred to eat the fish with rice, minus the taco. But she gobbled the whole thing down anyway, much to my husband’s amusement and mine.

  4. You managed to find a way to present this wonderfully in your photo. So pretty. I remember enjoying the eggplant caviar, but I think it got pretty mixed reviews.

  5. You’re so accommodating! With the exception of omitting pepper, I usually just make my MIL eat whatever it is I feel like making…Sorry you didn’t love the eggplant caviar. I generally prefer baba ganoush too.

  6. Awesome pictures and bonus points for finiding two recipes that needed the same type of cooking prep. Sorry the eggplant was not a huge hit but the corn was fab, no? 🙂 i have got to try grilling it next time. Enjoy the rest of your family visit – so fun with the little ones…..Tricia

Leave a Reply

