{ ffwd } whole cherry clafoutis

DSC_2683

I hated clafoutis. And for a good reason. The first time I had a clafoutis was during a picnic on Île St-Louis. The scene was always picture perfect, the weather gorgeous, the cheeses marvelous and the wine free-flowing. But somehow, we always failed on the dessert department. No one really cared much for dessert but someone would always manage to bring a supermarket pie/cake. Horrid. Of course.

I have made savoury clafoutis before with great results. But the sweet version never tempted me. Maybe it was because I have never tasted a properly made cherry clafoutis before. And so continued to believe that all cherry clafoutis were insipid with a slight metalic taste.. That is until Dorie enlightened me.

This clafoutis recipe was so easy and so quick to assemble (no pitting here.. always a plus in my book). I did however, replace the heavy cream with sour cream. It didn’t seem to make a significant difference to me. The difficult part was waiting for the clafoutis to bake for 35 minutes, filling my whole apartment with heavenly smell and then having to wait some more for it to cool down before I could dust it with some icing sugar. The result was fantastic. My husband and I couldn’t help gulfing half of it down as our pre dinner “snack”. Of course it was no trouble at all finishing the other half after dinner either. Another great Dorie recipe that I would come back to again and again.

Whole Cherry Clafoutis (in 5 steps)

  1. Rinse cherries well. Let them dry and pick off their stems. Leave the pits inside.
  2. Make a custard. Beat eggs until frothy. Add sugar, vanilla essence and mix well.
  3. Add in flour and incorporate milk and sour cream.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes at 180C.
  5. Let cool and dust with icing sugar.

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Check out:

12 thoughts on “{ ffwd } whole cherry clafoutis

  1. I’ve never had savory clafoutis either. You need to make one and do a blog post so we can see what we’re missing. Your cherry clafoutis looks delicious!

  2. Great job- that photo is stunning. I enjoyed the Clafoutis also this week and am not sure whether it was the ease of prep or the actual taste (actually both) that made it such a hit. Also enjoyed the idea of the picnic in the middle of Paris- you make me want to go back again !! I am also with you on the need for more make up weeks – I have GOT to get it together and am not only doing a make up recipe….but am making up for not commenting on last week’s duck posts by all the Doristas. Sorry to see that you had trouble finding duck and can totally understand that you didn’t want to finish butchering it at home (esp the head). Glad to see the tuna dish was a hit- Nana actually supplied me the wheat berries and I still have not managed to make this one. There is always “next week” ~ PS- love the idea of the savoury clafoutis. This was my first foray into this dish and you definitely peaked my interest !! Tricia

  3. LOL, ours didnt survive til the next day either! Actually, I MIGHT have snuck a bit in a dish and hid it waaaaayyyy back in the fridge so I could have a treat for breakfast. Alone. …. LOL! 🙂 Great job! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

