{ ffwd } greek courgette pancakes & tzatziki

DSC_2833

Tzatziki! Saat-zee-kee (thank you Mary ;))! Yey!! It’s one of my all-time favourite dips. It’s Greek, it’s fresh, it’s tasty and it’s healthy! What more could you want out of a dip? Huh? Huh?

I was really excited to try out this recipe. I’ve never actually made tzatziki before but have had it soo many times in France – home-made or store-bought. And of course any home-made version would out-shine the store-bought ones ten times over. It is indeed very popular in France, along with the other decadent yummy dip: taramasalata. But that’s another story.

Anyway, I immediately remembered my dear Turkish friend Najat who first introduced me to cajik (is that how you spell it?) which is very similar to tzatziki, only a bit more liquidy. I think the difference was in the type of yoghurt used. But anyway, she served it with this vegetable fritters which I found out later were made out of courgette, carrots, feta cheese and lotsaa herbs. It was a match made in heaven! So so good. The fritters were hot and crunchy, the dip was cold and soothing.

So naturally I tried to replicate Najat’s fritters to pair it with this week’s FFwD assignment. I found several recipes for the Greek version over the internet and have taken bits out of each one to make my own version. I decided to make courgette pancakes instead of fritters so I added a bit of flour to the mix. And the result was really quite good. My husband finished 5 in one go, carefully layering each pancake with Dorie’s tzatziki (into which I added sprinkles of chilli flakes for a bit of heat and a bit of lemon zest for zing). Definitely à refaire!!

Greek Courgette Pancakes [Kolokitho Keftedes]

Adapted from various sources – serves 4

  • 1/2 lb courgette, grated
  • 1/2 lb potatoes, grated
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp flat-leaf parsley, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tbsp mint, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tbsp dill, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup panko
  • 1 small onion, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Pinch of red chilli flakes, to taste
  • 1/2 cup canola oil, for pan frying

MAKE BATTER: Mix courgette, potatoes and salt in a strainer; set a weighted plate on top; let drain for 30 minutes. Transfer courgette and potatoes to a cheese cloth; squeeze out liquid as much as you can. Mix courgette, potatoes, herbs, cheese, panko, onion, garlic, lemon zest, flour and egg in a bowl. Season with red chilli flakes.

Pour oil into a skillet; heat over medium heat. Fry a little batter first to test-taste the seasoning. If it needs more salt, by all means, add more salt to the batter.

Working in batches, PAN FRY A TABLESPOON OR SO OF BATTER and shape directly into a pancake until browned and crisp, 1-2 minutes each side. Transfer pancakes to paper towels.

SERVE WITH TZATZIKI.

Tzatziki (in 5 steps)

  1. Very finely dice your seedless cucumbers and transfer to a bowl. Add a bit of salt and let stand for about 30 minutes.
  2. Transfer cucumbers into a cheese cloth and drain all the liquid as best as you can.
  3. In another bowl, mix together Greek yoghurt, lemon zest, olive oil, lemon juice, chilli flakes, garlic, mint and dill.
  4. Add in the cucumbers to the yoghurt mix and taste for salt.
  5. Chill and serve with raw carrot/cucumber/courgette sticks, potato chips, or anything Greek.

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Check out:

15 thoughts on “{ ffwd } greek courgette pancakes & tzatziki

  1. Nice combo. I made zucchini fritters from last month’s Bon Appetit last week. Tzatziki would be delicious on top. Thanks for the idea.

  2. That looks awesome!!!
    That’s interesting what you said about your friend’s tzatziki, hat’s how my mum it a lot of the time, almost like a soup.
    Maybe it’s a geographical preference?
    (Netball wasn’t your sport? Lol!)

  3. Wow would I love a plate of those right now !!! 🙂 Great job pairing these and I loved hearing how you had enjoyed this and the other dips with friends. That makes it all the more special. I made this with my son in May and we both enjoyed it on yummy Naan.

  4. Ha. I made this to go with it too for make up day. Only I called them fritters and this sounds so much better. The persians have Mast o khiar which is basically the same thing…regular yogurt and often a touch of mint. Its all good and I could eat it all with a spoon. I’m already hungry for more.

Leave a Reply

