grilled corn with sriracha-cilantro butter

DSC_2672

I woke up feeling blue yesterday. I had this really strange dream that included meeting a very unpleasant woman that apparently had something I desperately wanted. Anyway the dream ended in a cliff-hanger sort of fashion and I woke up feeling more than restless. And I sensed that this restlessness will stay to haunt me throughout the week. I refused however to let that feeling bully me. So I started to read Nate Silver’s “The Signal and The Noise” that I picked up recently. FYI, I’m a political science geek who spent the last five years immersed in research on political parties and Nate Silver sure looks hot to me.

As I leafed through this very interesting book, my stomach suddenly growled. At first I ignored it and pressed on with Nate’s theory (can I call him Nate?) on the chess player’s dilemma, but after a while I really couldn’t make any sense of what I was reading. I sped to my fridge and saw that it was near empty. Sigh.. I really have to stop this vicious eat-out cycle I’m in. I rummaged through the vegetable box searching for a glimmer of hope for a home-made meal, suppressing any thoughts on going out for yet another take-out. That’s when I saw the corns. I was going to start slicing the kernels off the cob to make a raw corn salad when I looked out my window and saw what a beautiful day it was, without a cloud in the sky. So grilled corn it was.

In Indonesia, grilled corn is a very popular street food. Vendors would usually make a sambal paste using chillies, garlic and shallots before mixing them with butter to coat the corn. I didn’t feel like using my mortar and pestle and opted for something simpler using an Indonesian sriracha sauce as a shortcut. I then remembered that in Mexico they add cilantro and thought that it would only make my grilled corn taste better. The result was sweet and spicy awesomeness. Summer in a dish. I found myself grinning with bits of corn stuck between my teeth, and at least for a moment, not a worry in the world.

Charcoal Grilled Corn with Sriracha-Cilantro Butter

Serves 2

  • 2 corn ears, husks pulled down
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 tbsp Indonesian sambal sauce/ Sriracha (I used ABC Indonesian Sambal brand)
  • 1 tsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 Asian shallots, minced
  • small handful of coriander leaves (cilantro), roughly chopped

In a small bowl, MIX BUTTER, sriracha, soy sauce, minced garlic, half of the minced shallots and half of the cilantro. Stir well until you get a homogeneous mix.

Heat up your charcoal and when it’s ready, SLOWLY GRILL YOUR CORN. Fan your charcoal gently to let smoke cover your corn. While grilling, brush each side of your corn with the butter mix. When all sides all nicely charcoaled lay your corn on a serving plate. Brush each side one more time with the butter and shower with the remaining shallots and coriander leaves.

Enjoy it straight off the cob!

5 thoughts on “grilled corn with sriracha-cilantro butter

Leave a Reply

