{ ffwd } galette sablée bretonne aux fruits de bois

DSC_1614

When I first saw that Breton Sablé was on the rotation for this month’s FFwD assignment, I was excited and nervous at the same time.

Excited because I LOOOVE Breton sablé. From that very first cookie I got 7 years ago from a neighbourhood bakery in Paris,  I have been helplessly enamored with this sweet delicacy. I could never resist seeing a sablé cookie, looking so lovely and perfectly crumbly through a boulangerie’s display window.  Of course, moving to Singapore reduces my chance of running into a sablé to a near zero. Delifrance, you dare call yourself a French bakery?

Nervous because I’m a lousy baker. Dessert has never been my forte. And this galette just looked so… Intimidating. I have never made lemon curd before and my experiences at making galette are as random as my sister’s taste in men back in her heyday. I actually pondered if the cookie version would be a better idea.. It certainly seemed a lot simpler.

To make things worse, I had nonchalantly proposed to bring dessert to dinner at the boss’ place. And of course I had this galette on my mind. Pretty cocky for someone who doesn’t bake much huh? But of course, I wanted to impress.

The day before the dinner, I started making the dough. I was kinda alarmed by the amount of butter in the dough. I knew that a sablé should indeed be buttery but I didn’t know that it needed THAT much butter. I grumbled frustratingly as I pictured my swimsuit and reduced the amount of sugar to make myself feel better. I then made the lemon curd. I thought that it was going to be complicated but it thickened up effortlessly.

The next afternoon, I pathetically attempted to roll the dough. After the third try, I abandoned the rolling part and contented to pat the dough onto my impromptu pie pan which is actually the bottom of my spring-form pan. Dorie said to bake it for 40/45 minutes, but after only 20, my galette was golden and smelled heavenly. Of course, my galette doesn’t look anywhere near as pretty as Dorie’s. This I blame on my petite oven, so petite that my ikea pie pan won’t even fit into it. So let’s just say that it looks rustic.

That night I brought the galette over to the boss’ place. It got the wows and ahhs that I was secretly hoping for. Mille mercis Dorie 😉

Sablé Breton Galette (in 5 steps)

  1. Make the galette: Soften butter (LOTS of it) with a mixer until creamy. Add in the egg, flour and sugar. Mix again.
  2. Form dough into a disk and chill for at least 3 hours.
  3. Pat dough into a pie pan and bake for 20 minutes.
  4. When the galette has cooled enough, spread lemon curd over the galette.
  5. Sprinkle with LOTS of berries

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Check out:

20 thoughts on “{ ffwd } galette sablée bretonne aux fruits de bois

  1. It looks lovely! Colourful and delicious! Unfortunately I had no time to make it this week but it definitely takes a rain check for sometime real soon!

  2. Looks great! One of the things I love is that, the more I cook, the more I realize that I can make anything that I want that I can’t get my hands on where I’m currently living (bagels, Indian food, etc.) So glad that you were able to replicate a dessert that has a piece of your heart! Now you can have it any time you want. 🙂

    • Oh of course. Singaporean food is truly great. If i have a craving for some noodles in whatever form, there’s no better place to be. If i crave for.. Lets say good manchego cheese, that’s a different story.

  3. Very pretty looking Sablé Breton with those delicious strawberries, blueberries and blackberries – what a delightful treat this recipe was and from what I have read in all the other posts, we will see many a repeat performance of this lovely recipe!
    Have a nice weekend!

  4. I think your galette looks darn delicious. Very pretty and, of course, your boss was impressed. I think these days, if someone goes to the effort to make a recipe from scratch, people are going to be most appreciative. Your sister’s got to love that comment about her taste in men. We’ve all been there, done that in our lives. Congratulations on making your own curd.

  5. Stunning – awesome job ! You are so brave to attempt this for such an occasion, but I know that this is often how we DO get around to trying/sharing new recipes. I can imagine the guests reactions quite well since I had a similar one when Nana presented me with her completed recipe. Oh my, after taking many photos of the gorgeous treats I then enjoyed (too) many of them ! Great post ~ Tricia

  6. Pingback: classic galette sablée de breton | the spicy lemongrass

Leave a Reply

