week 4: indonesian street food

indon010520100119

credit photo: phingelicious.com

Let me begin by proclaiming that: I LOVE STREET FOOD!! I love love love it. Andrew Zimmern and Anthony Bourdain – for going rogue and promoting street food culture the unfussy way- are my culinary heroes, although sometimes they do over-rate food joints/ dishes for the sake of television.

Believe you me, when it comes to street food, I am a true believer. And I hope to preach the gospel of street food to every corner of the globe. So hear me roar!! There’s nothing I love more in travelling than discovering an array of unique delicious street food in a new city. There’s no better and faster way to get you to mingle with the locals than flocking the food carts by the dozen. I therefore standby my moto when travelling: “That stone monument will always be there, but that lady selling mouth watering bowls of noodles is about to run out!”

But really, as much as I love discovering new exotic food, there’s no other food I love most than Indonesian (well, okay French does come close but only because I’m biased). Here, I have featured an Indonesian street food dish before: the very popular breakfast fare in Central Java – Semarang-Style Chicken Porridge. It is a dish that reminds me of my childhood. I grew up eating it almost every morning.But in general, as a kid I used to take traditional Indonesian food for granted. Preferring the eerily looking smile of the Colonel and Ronald. Sad huh? After nearly 2 decades of living abroad I now realise that home is really where the heart is. As long as I’m with my husband and daughter, I’ll call anywhere home. But Indonesian food sure does make things feel more homey to me. Now, the thing is.. I still live abroad! But the good news is.. it’s Singapore. Not only is it close-r to Indonesia, but finding good Indonesian ingredients/restaurants is not difficult at all thanks to the large Malay & Indonesian community.

Anyway, in the next coming month (date still yet to be known to me), I will be travelling (yet again) to Indonesia, going through cities from Jakarta to Central Java. Hopefully I’ll get to visit Yogyakarta again. It is such a magical city. Full of culture, charm, and yes street food. But Yogya or not Yogya, you bet I’ll be documenting every street food scene I pass. So stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “week 4: indonesian street food

Leave a Reply

