clafouti de tomates cerises

clafou

Happy mother’s day to all mothers! I hope you had a wonderful Sunday with your daughters and sons. And if you’re not a mother, well I hope you had a beautiful Sunday with yours. Yesterday I was without my daughter nor my mother. Boo hoo. A week or so ago, I left Bébé at my mother’s place in Jakarta so my family over there can spend some time with her. They don’t get to see her often and my husband and I actually thought that it’d be nice to have the house to ourselves. But boy do I miss her. I can’t wait to get her back this coming Friday. So to cheer myself up, I made a savoury clafouti for myself yesterday. It is the perfect mother’s day brunch dish. Light and fluffy. A bit eggy. Slightly sweet from the tomatoes and leeks. Fairmount_ market uploaded this recipe to the Food52 database. And it is heavenly. If only I had my mother to share it with. Oh well, it can only mean more clafouti for myself…

Several things I did differently:

  • I used ricotta instead of goat cheese that was called for in the original recipe. This I did because I had just made a batch of freshly homemade ricotta. And it tasted wonderful! I had tried the clafouti using goat cheese too and it was also very very good.
  • I halved the amount of leeks because my 2 large leeks yield plenty.
  • Instead of dry white vermouth, I used sweet vermouth because I think it gives the leeks a nice sweet undertone.
  • Finally, I didn’t bother making the first layer of crepe that the original recipe asked for. Instead, I just threw my leeks into the clafouti batter and dumped the whole thing on a buttered baking dish. It came out glorious.

I am not going to post the recipe per se because you can find it here. I am however posting the ingredients I used with their metric equivalents (you’re welcome my metric loving friends). For directions, please refer to the original recipe.

Clafouti de Tomates Cerises [Cherry Tomato Clafouti]

Serves 4-6

For the batter
  • 180 ml or 3/4 cup milk
  • 180 ml or 3/4 cup cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 60 gr. or 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • pinches salt
For the filling

  • 300 gr. or 11 oz. cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 tbsp. dried marjoram
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter, plus more for pan
  • 2 large leeks, white and light green part only
  • 60 ml. or 1/4 cup sweet white vermouth
  • 60 gr. or  2 oz. ricotta
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chopped fresh chives

Serve warm or at room temperature. Lovely with a simple salad.

One thought on “clafouti de tomates cerises

  1. Pingback: { ffwd } whole cherry clafoutis | the spicy lemongrass

Leave a Reply

