goat cheese and basil frittata

_MG_6855

I’ve been craving for simple foods lately. In part because I’m still trying to battle my laziness to cook. As I’ve said in previous posts, I am currently in a take-out rut. Delicious cheap take-outs are omnipresent here in Singapore. It’s good in a way cause when you’re really busy, you know that good affordable food is less than a 3 minute walk away. But after weeks of basically eating out almost every night, I’m starting to worry about the health damage of eating dishes laden with MSG. It’s no secret that MSG is very widely used in Singapore. I can taste it in almost every take-out. I miss knowing exactly what is laid out on my plate.

So I’m dragging myself slowly back to the kitchen. After weeks of not touching a skillet, I was worried that I might have lost my cooking ability. Non-sense of course because cooking is like riding a bike. Once you learn it, it sticks with you forever. But I’m still in no mood for cooking fancy elaborate dishes. I want simple foods. Foods that don’t require more than 35 minutes to prepare in this blaring summer heat. Plus, my kitchen is way less than perfect. It doesn’t get enough sunshine/wind, no thanks to the high rise apartment building standing right in front of it, so it stays hot and humid. Subsequently, it’s also very dark. I need to turn on the lights in the middle of the day so I can see that I’m not about to chop my finger off. But then again, it’s not all that bad. My kitchen is actually pretty big. Big enough to fit all of my kitchen appliances and knick-knacks. And I’ve got a LOT of knick-knacks I tell you (some, I’m still figuring out how to use, like this soy milk juicer my mother got me.. two summers ago). More counter space is always welcome though.

Anyway, I’m veering off the important subject here. Simple foods. Simple summer foods. I had a block of goat cheese sitting in my fridge. Waiting to be used. So I made this really simple frittata with goat cheese and parmesan crust, loaded it with herbs and sweet red pepper (a truly wonderful summer produce worth waiting for, just like tomatoes). I steamed my cubed potatoes before pan-frying them with my sliced bell peppers. It ensures a crunchy texture outside while keeping a nice fluffy interior. The result was a delicious versatile summer dish, made under 35 minutes. Serve it hot, serve it cold, or serve it in cubes – tapas style.

Goat Cheese and Basil Frittata

serves 2-4

  • 300 gr new potatoes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small red bell pepper, sliced thinly (about 100 gr)
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, sliced (40 gr)
  • 2 tbsp basil, roughly torn
  • 2 tbsp Italian parsley, roughly chopped
  • 40 gr soft spread goat cheese
  • 5 eggs, whisked lightly
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of red chilli flakes
  • 20 gr parmesan, grated

Preheat the grill of your oven to 180C/350F.

STEAM YOUR NEW POTATOES UNTIL TENDER. When they’re cool enough to handle cut them into cubes. Not too small, not too big.

In an oven proof oiled skillet, cook the sliced bell peppers and onion until aromatic. Add the potatoes and let cook for 3 minutes or so. Beat your eggs with a little salt and chilli flakes. Take in mind to not over salt as you’ll have the already-salty parmesan cheese as crust.

Throw in your herbs and slowly pour in your eggs, covering all the vegetables. Dot them with bits of goat cheese. Let cook over low heat for 5 minutes until the edges start to firm up.

Dust the top of your frittata with parmesan and SLIDE IT INTO YOUR OVEN for 2 minutes until the surface has firmed up nicely and golden.

Leave a Reply

