{ ffwd } goat cheese and strawberry tartine

strawb

Here’s another no-cook recipe for today’s French Fridays with Dorie. As you can probably tell, this one was a no-brainer. It literally only took seconds to assemble. Another very simple recipe that did not fail to please. Dorie put the balsamic vinegar as optional, but for me it was what bound the whole thing together. It was very good as it was, but it was also begging for a little herb. I wanted to put basil but just run out. So mint came for the ride. And oh lord! It was delicious, refreshing, perfect for a summer snack.

I only had enough goat cheese to make 3 tartines, so I made 3 and ate them all… I didn’t even leave a tiny crumb for my poor husband. And as I chomped greedily on each tartine, I totally pictured myself snacking on this by the pool, wearing a large summer hat and a pair of ridiculously large sunglasses. I’d read Amélie Nothomb and sip on strawberry daiquiri. And be magically 5 kg lighter (of course), just in time to fit into my pre-motherhood swimming suit. I’d take a bite of my summery tartine and sigh..

Oh the joys of summer…

Goat Cheese and Strawberry Tartine (in 5 steps)

  1. Toast your bread. I used a nutty wholegrain pain de campagne. Let cool.
  2. Slather it with goat cheese. Be as liberal as you’d like.
  3. Shower with strawberries.
  4. Sprinkle with crushed black pepper and coarsely chopped mint.
  5. Drizzle lightly with balsamic vinegar. That’s it!

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Check out:

21 thoughts on “{ ffwd } goat cheese and strawberry tartine

  1. I didn’t add the herbs, but thought basil would be perfect too. The mint sounds wonderful too. I thought these were great. Yours looks beautiful!

  2. lol. I made a pretty plate of these for the post last night and proudly set them on the table so they would be there when my honey got home looking so elegant but I ate them ALL while waiting. Drank the wine too. Bad spouse!

  3. Love your imaginary poolside meal! This does seem like something that might be served at an elegant Côte d’Azur hôtel. Your photo is quite lovely.

  4. Mint sounds like a wonderful addition. Pretty photo! Glad you enjoyed them. I also made only three and ate them all for lunch. I didn’t leave any for my hubby…he was out playing golf.

  5. I had the same thought on basil but since I had none I used mint for garnish and took a bite of mint with my last bite of peach tartine. A great combo! I think by the pool with large sunglasses is a terrific idea:)

  6. Looks just perfect. I like the idea to add some fresh herbs. I am making these again tomorrow and I think that there is some basil hiding somewhere at the back of my fridge.

  7. I like the way you wrote your recipe-sounds like you really enjoyed these summertime tartines and sometimes you just need to be a little bit selfish ;-)

  8. Beautiful ripe strawberry slices on top of your wonderful tartines – so nice that everyone seemed to have enjoyed this simple recipe so very much! Mint sounds like an interesting addition too and it adds a nice splash of color to the dish as well.
    Have a good Sunday!

  9. Ha ha – you had me laughing out loud at your description of the “joy of summer”. I am so with you- sound lovely ! I shared the taste test version of these but proceeded to make a large plate full for lunch the following day, which I promptly devoured by myself. These were amazing. And your photo is perfect – lovely !! Tricia

Leave a Reply

