{ ffwd } anne leblanc’s pistachio avocado

DSC_1554

Wow. This was fun! Easy, simple, hardly a recipe, but WOW. So so good. The avocado was buttery and creamy. The chopped pistachios and sel de Guérande gave a nice crunchy texture. The lime juice added a slight brightness to the avocado. But the pistachio oil.. the pistachio oil was.. a revelation. A beautiful hue of green, the aroma and taste mimic the nut with which it was infused. I could eat this stuff by the spoonful. Put together, the whole dish came out perfectly. Delicious. Rich. Slightly decadent without being over the top. I should have known, but pistachio is the other soulmate of avocado (the first of course, being raw salmon). They go so well together and complement each other in the most harmonious way. I only had one avocado for a quick lunch, but of course instantly regretted for not buying two or three. And I could definitely picture this as a very elegant appetiser when the boss comes over for dinner.

Like many others in the group, I also made my own pistachio oil. Not only the oil would be a hard find in Singapore (I have yet to see it in supermarkets/specialty shops), but I dare not imagine the price tag! So making my own was of course the natural solution. It was easy. Too easy. I simplified it by pan roasting the nuts instead of roasting them in the oven. I let the nuts steep in the oil for 2 days before using them. The flavour intensified and in the end it was quite pronounced. Now I’ve got a small jar of this divine oil in the fridge. You bet I’ll be making a lot of vinaigrette for the next week or so.

Anne Le Blanc’s Pistachio Avocado (in 5 steps)

  1. Cut your avocado in half. Take out the seed.
  2. Squirt with lemon/lime juice. Don’t forget the hollow centre.
  3. Fill the hole with pistachio oil (recipe below). Drizzle it all over.
  4. Scatter pistachio nuts on top. Season well.
  5. Eat with a spoon. Immediately.

The complete recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table”.

Pistachio Oil

Adapted from this recipe, makes 1/3 cup

  • 1/4 cup pistachio, coarsely ground with mortar and pestle or a food processor
  • 1/3 cup grapeseed oil

TOAST PISTACHIO on a pan over medium low heat until aromatic. About 5 minutes. Shake and stir once in a while. Don’t let those nuts burn.

Pour oil over your pistachios and heat over low heat for another 5 minutes UNTIL VERY WARM.

You can now strain YOUR OIL INTO A JAR.. or not strain. I chose not to because I like the texture of the nuts. Also keeping the nuts in the jar would intensify its flavour. So actually, don’t strain. Let cool.

Keep in fridge for… I don’t know.. two weeks?

Check out:

18 thoughts on “{ ffwd } anne leblanc’s pistachio avocado

  1. I really loved this recipe! Fortunately, I was able to find pistachio oil, so I didn’t have to make my own. But I like the idea of having pistachio pieces crumbled on the dish to give it more crunch. I’ll have to try that next time.

  2. Nice post — love your photo w/the oil droplets and nuts. (Hi over there in Singapore! I was just with a friend last night, who grew up there. Isn’t air travel the greatest??!)

  3. Nice presentation of your avaocado halves with that drizzle of freshly squeezed lime juice and homemade pisatchio flavored oil – I agree, a nice enjoyable way to eat avocados and I think the idea to use lime instead of lemon makes it sound even more delicious!
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  4. I am also loving that photo – great job ! I had fun making this oil as well but ground my nuts up pretty well and wished I had left a bit more crunch for texture. Next time. Because there WILL be a next time :) Tricia

  5. Pingback: week 4, intermezzo: (not) dieter’s tartine {ffwd} | the spicy lemongrass

Leave a Reply

